Day 71: Alexandra Bridge (Inter-provincial)

There’s a lot going on here: I was first inspired by a shot on one of my contacts/friends here on flickr who shot something similar. As the weather was still good, I decided to walk out and get the shot. And did I ever get the shot.

I knew even before I went I was going to work some HDR on it, too. The regular shots are great, I like them a lot, but there’s something about the effect that HDR provides for something like this. On top of that, I used, for the first time, very consciously, my Cokin T1 Graduated Tobacco filter, to enhance the sky, but leave the roadway, water, and ice a very stark white. I really like the way it worked.

It’s a long exposure too, as you can probably tell by the blurred and stretched tail-lights from the cars on the bridge. Small aperture, sunset, and the filter cutting out another stop or two, I was at six to ten second exposures. This one is six seconds.

Inter-Provincial Bridge