And the Saga of the Brakes Continues

Seriously, eight months without a post, and now three in four days?

So, looks like my thoughts on my first excursion on the track provoked some interest: viewership kinda exploded. I’m sure it’ll settle back to the usual 3-6 da day (mostly on the Mysterious Package posts) but in the interim: Hey, new folks!

And, as I noted, I killed my brakes. And I was Looking into options.

It turns out, on the bottom of the Frixa pads box, it says, very clearly “NOT FOR TRACK USE”. But who the hell looks at the bottom of the box??? That would have been helpful on the TOP of the box.

C’est la vie.

The deal is, though, by the time you read this, I should have the car back on the road. New brakes are acquired, at least for short-term.

Lets go back in time a little bit.

Genesis - All Blue//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

When I bought the Genesis Coupe in 2009, it was one of three in the city. They were rare. like any new model (it’s still just a Hyundai). There was a community beginning in the ‘states, but not much in Canada yet. I got involved in GenCoupe.com, and that was OK. Upside was, I met some good people locally, who I’m still very, very good friends with. I, and those guys and girls, never actually called ourselves anything. Fast forward to 2010, 2011, and there’s a group popped up in Oshawa/Whitby area: The Durham Basterds. We met a bunch of these guys and girls, and, well, got along famously. Some are just car friends, others have become friends: it was a year before I met most of them. It was also several of these guys who pushed me towards the much more structured community of Chapter 11. And I got to know some more of the guys, even better.

My Bombshelter crew: the guys and girls from University have become the bar to which I hold myself, and anyone I meet.

The core of the Basterds?

They’re worthy of the Bombshelter.

They do the things I would do, and have done.

For instance.

While I don’t want to embarass anyone, someone built probably the most epic street genesis coupe (there are some more epic Gensesisisiesies. Genesii? I don’t know, but they’re pretty inherently show cars, not drivers) that I’ve seen.

Well, this morning, they were on the road at 4am, and delivered me a full set of OEM brakes.

Darkcyde Delivery Service//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

And I do mean “complete”. Rotors, pads, calipers, brackets, hardware, lines, and dust shields.

I cannot put into words how much this kind of thing from my friends/chosen family means to me. This is what it’s all about: it’s what I try to do, and I know it’s the kind of selflessness that my friends seem to have, from 8 hour roundtrips for a favour, midnight cottage closings, hospital runs, parking lot repairs, charity events and so much more. The things I’ve seen the people I’ve surrounded myself with, that they get NOTHING out of, do, for the benefit of others? It’s just awesome. And it gives me hope.

So… enough with the mushy stuff?

Finally…

It’s 40oC today. I got home from work, went through the brakes that’d been left for me, and re-installed what I needed: I’m lousy at bleeding brakes, and I want the car on the road this weekend for the cottage run, so I just did pads and rotors, re-lubed everything and took it for a test drive. All is awesome.

The pedal is a little squishy. I do need to change the fluid, but it’ll be fine for a few days at least. It seems to hold true though, once that fluid has boiled, it’s never the same again. So, what I’ll probably do is swap the fluid, and at the same time, swap on the newer calipers, too.

And then I figure out what the plan is going forward, for the track. And I guess I need some higher performance pads for Tail of the Dragon this fall too. Still, all things in their time.

Gonna have to pay this whole thing forward sometime though.

One Response to And the Saga of the Brakes Continues

  1. cars4usa says:

    Wow, that’s really generous and kind of them!

Leave a Reply

