On Game Peripherals, and Maybe We’re Trying To Make Too Much Money

I love racing games. I swore up and down, I was going to buy an Xbox:One, and Forza5, and I have done so. I’ve not yet played Forza5, because I also swore I wouldn’t play it with a standard paddle controller: I’d wait until I got a wheel. And, because I’m doing ok, and I know I’ll get the use from it, I decided that when it happened, I’d buy a Fanatec wheel. For those who don’t know Fanatec, they are the be-all-end-all for wheel/pedal, and basically, driving simulator components.

But.

The announcement went out that they’d finally made an agreement with Microsoft so they could produce a hardware interface for Xbox:One. Awesome.

Except not.

It’s a $299.99 ($399.99 with the steering wheel attached) (USD) add-on for your existing kit. I don’t have an existing kit from Fanatec. So, I’d be on the hook for, and I kid you not, $1300+ USD for wheel/pedals/adaptor, and shifter. Again, I shit you not, this is what I would need to pull the trigger on a set-up for the XB:One:

That’s the cheapest set-up I can configure, for my usage. I’d rather go with the $150 (or $199) Clubsport V shifter, and add a $99 Handbrake. So, remove $60 from the cart above, but then add at least another $249 to it.

Again, that’s USD. So, throw shipping in there, AND convert to Canadian dollars (about $1.26 right nwo) and that…. TWO. THOUSAND. DOLLARS. For a wheel/pedal set-up to play a console video game. Now, I love Forza. I truly, truly do. But I can’t imagine a world (well, I can, and I have the lottery ticket in my pocket right now) where I could justify that kind of money on console peripherals. I mean, are they going to sell any? That’s a hell of an outlay for anyone who’s not already heavily invested in the hardware, at the xbox360 level, and “just” wants to add a $300 (USD) lump to it all so they can use their existing gear on XB:One.

I seriously can’t imagine them selling enough of them to make it worthwhile. I’m about as rabid a race/gaming fan as you can have: I have thousands of hours invested in Forza2, 3, 4, and Horizons2.

So, what do I do?

Well, the Thrustmaster TX is looking better and better. I’d sworn I wasn’t going to “cheap out” when I did it this time: I got a ton of use out of my $99 Xbox360 original wheel

It’s a good looking piece of kit, it’s reputedly well built, and it’s $400. But I swore, I wouldn’t. I swore I wouldn’t pay THAT much for two pedals: I had to have the clutch. But it turns out, I can have the clutch.

So, the third pedal? I can get that (hah. Figures, right? I started this post a couple weeks back and since then, the pedal set has gone out of stock on amazon.ca). I can also add a proper shifter, too:

The bad news is, by the time I add that H-Pattern shifter (which looks pretty damn nice, I gotta admit), and the three-pedal rig, I’m looking at close to $800 again. At least that’s already in Canadian dollars, though, and shipped. It’s a lot less than the near-enough-to-make-no-difference-two-thousand-dollars Fanatec dream rig.

And that’s the problem right there. It IS a dream rig. It’s exactly what I want, and have wanted for nearly ten years. But it’s really, really, really not in the budget. Ever, I don’t think. Which kinda sucks, but there you have it. My only option, I think, will be to look for a used CSR set-up that someone is selling, and then add the Xbox:One adapter to THAT. That would get me in the door and running, and even if the use stuff breaks eventually, I can replace piece-by-piece from Fanatec. It’s the initial outlay that’s the issue, really. I can’t throw down that much up front for what is, at the end of the day, a toy. Even the Thrustmaster rig is going to be out of the real range of most people. You’ve got to be pretty well-off to even get into the Thrustmaster base rig, with two pedals, never mind turning it into what it should be. If thrustmaster were smart, they’d make a $600 kit available (wheel, three pedals, shifter) rather than having people buy two pedals, then replace them for $200 with a full pedal set-up. Maybe that’s just me though.

But at the end of the day, what all this really means is that my beloved Fanatec rig is off the table.

I mean, that two grand is a lot of parts for a REAL car. Which I also have.

Leave a Reply

