[BIKING] Commuter Stuff

So, a thing happened yesterday: had my first ‘hit’ of the summer.  Minivan on Bank St South.  For those who know the area, right at the crest of the bridge, north of South Keys, northbound.  The road there is awful: it’s basically impossible to bike within a meter (three feet) of the curb, due to sunken drains, foot wide potholes, and winter debris, including broken glass.  It is also a stretch of road that runs “fast” for cars.  It’s a sixty entering a fifty (KM/h), but most people tend to crest doing seventy to eighty.

And I took a mirror to elbow.  Guy never even noticed.  Or if he did, he didn’t slow down.  And he was going fast enough, and I was worrying about keeping the bike upright, that I didn’t get a plate number (although he did have, irony of ironies, a “This vehicle does not exceed 100km/h, for safety” bumper sticker). 

So, this morning, I figured I’d try out a new route.  I’d head south from my place, instead of north, and cut across Hunt Club.  Now, Hunt Club isn’t exactly bike-friendly around the Bank/Bronson/Airport Parkway area: it’s the only section where they didn’t bother with bike lanes.  But at 6:30 in the morning, it’s better than Bank Street itself.

However, it IS longer.  How much longer?  This much:

This:  http://goo.gl/maps/Rvfnm (8.6km)
Vs
This: http://goo.gl/maps/Hele5 (4.5km)

Now, add another 0.2km to the first one, and  .75km to the second (shorter one), and that fits the directions to my house, NOT my neighbourhood bar.  😉

So, it’s a lot longer, a little over 3km longer, via the safer route. But it is a LOT safer. 

Keeping all the fun going, the next two days will look like this:

commute to work, leave work go get new bike tire in the Glebe (at my friendly neighbourhood bike store, Joe Mamma Cycles, ride home via … probably Col. By/Riverside/Huntclub.  So, like this:  http://goo.gl/maps/yaiB7

Then tomorrow, Work, downtown (Trillium Dental), back to work, and then home again, for just shy of 30km total:  http://goo.gl/maps/OJPGr

Man, it really is a shame that google.maps won’t let you embed any route except driving.  It’d be way more fun to have visible maps, rather than links to maps. I suppose I could expand my run home tomorrow to hogsback/riverside, and bump up to 35km, but why be crazy about things?  (Yeah. I’ll totally end up doing that).

Leave a Reply

