New House, Bigger Bills, Catching Up On Games

Yup, with the move to the new house completed, I’m waiting to see where all the bills settle down to. Given that, I’m actively spending less (where I can) and waiting to see where all the new bills seem to settle into place. What that means is, there’s time to play some games.

I mean, it helps that it’s the dark days of winter (and ok, it’s getting lighter later in the day, and it’s almost DST here again, too) but, games are a good way to pass the time. Along with reading, but that’s another post.

So, games.

I’m playing a bunch of affordable DLC on Xbox Live: I’ve not seen the need to upgrade to the Xbox:one yet: that’ll probably happen after the summer, funds permitting.

Digression: one of the big reasons, for me, for not upgrading to the Xbox:One yet is that it’s going to cost me an arm and a leg. Specifically, there’s really only one or two games I really want at this point, and only one of those is a “must have” on the new console. That game is Forza Motorsports 5:

Now, why is that a holding point? Well, for one, I don’t see the point in buying a new $500 system for one or two games: I’ll let the platform mature a little, first. But second, for me, for Forza, it’s not a $500 system. It’s a $500 system, plus a $70 game, plus a $200-$400 wheel/pedal set-up. Because I don’t play sims with a controller/gamepad. I just.. don’t. It’s fine for stuff like Need For Speed, but for a simulator, it takes me out of the SIM part of it to use joysticks and triggers. I want a wheel and pedals. And when it comes to pedals, I want three of them. Yup, I stir my own gear set.

So, that’s where I stand on the Xbox:One, and the PS4 is about the same for me. Not enough there yet, for me to justify my interest.

Where was I?

Oh, yeah, DLC and the ol’ Xbox360.

So, I started (and fell in love with) Spec Ops: The Line: I continue to be told over and over that it’s worth playing the story repeatedly, and making different decisions. So, I think I finally have to finish it this weekend. I probably won’t re-play right away, but I’ve already had two serious, significant, gut-check moments in game. You know the “holy shit what have I done?” that you get in real life when you really fuck up? Yeah. That. And that, from a video game? Totally stunning. I’m pretty sure I’ve talked about this before, but it bears repeating. This is a spectacular game that didn’t get the attention it deserved. It’s worth every penny of thirty bucks, but it goes on sale fairly regularly, too. I got it on XBL for $7, which is ridiculous for a game of this quality.

After that, I’ve not raced in a long time, so, back to Forza 4. If anyone wants to race, gamertag is B000zysmurf. Hit me up, I’ll take you down. I’m sure someone’s burned some of my times in “Rivals” too, so I’ll get some of THAT back.

Then, there’s HALO4, which I bought, and never got past the first chapter. Just didn’t have time. So, it’s time to hit the story there, too. And I grabbed “DUST” recently, which is REALLY pretty, and a lot of fun for a side-scroll button masher:

So, that’s my weekend, what’re you playin’?

Leave a Reply

