On Being Haunted Pt. 2.

Ok, so the post early this evening, I actually wrote about ten days ago. And I had a huge discussion with people about it, trying to guess who set me up, etc, etc.

And then I forgot to post it.

Today, however, I got this:

Front

back

This one, if you can see properly, is from Muskoka Cottage Sanitarium, which pre-dates the Muskoka Free Hospital for Consumptives.

Where things get interesting is, there’s no real message. No message, that is, except for four bars of music (which I don’t read), and a reference to a play, The Mourning Bride.

However, if you look at the notation:

The Notes & The Play

“William Congreve, Almeria, A1S1”

Act I, Scene I, is my guess. And the opening line (spoken by Almeria) of Act 1, Scene 1, of “The Mourning Bride” is “Music has charms to soothe a savage breast”.

So, there’s music on the postcard, one would assume, to soothe the savage breast. Or, maybe, as it’s often misquoted, savage beast.

I don’t read sheet music though. So, does anyone who’s happened to read this, read sheet music, and can point me in the right direction for what, exactly, is being provided to me here?

I am both intrigued, and terrified.

One small piece of trivia, that may be relevant. Today is November 21st.

On November 29th, 1920, the infirmary and administration burned to the ground. In eight days, that will be 92 years ago. The last letter (well, first letter) was mailed eight days prior to this one. I see a >< small pattern here.

Oh, and the full opening text from "The Mourning Bride" is (Spoken by Almeria):

Music has charms to soothe a savage breast,
To soften rocks, or bend a knotted oak.
I’ve read that things inanimate have moved,
And, as with living souls, have been informed,
By magic numbers and persuasive sound.
What then am I? Am I more senseless grown
Than trees or flint? O force of constant woe!
‘Tis not in harmony to calm my griefs.
Anselmo sleeps, and is at peace; last night
The silent tomb received the good old king; lo

He and his sorrows now are safely lodged
Within its cold but hospitable bosom.
Why am not I at peace?

5 Responses to On Being Haunted Pt. 2.

  1. Pingback: On Being Haunted, Pt. 3 « Life, the Universe, and Everything

  2. Pingback: Urban Exploring ( Pic heavy ) - Page 2 - Genesis Forum: GenCoupe Hyundai Genesis Forums

  3. Pingback: On Being Haunted (Pt 4) « Life, the Universe, and Everything

  4. Pingback: I’m Being Haunted, Pt 6 « Life, the Universe, and Everything

  5. Pingback: Being Haunted: A compilation of links « Life, the Universe, and Everything

Leave a Reply

