New Music Tuesday

The awesome thing is, of course, that with the internet in my pocket, I can buy new music whenever I want.

The problem, of course, is that with the internet in my pocket, I can buy new music WHENEVER I WANT.

You see the catch twenty-two involved, of course?

I don’t do it often. I’m fairly picky. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a one-genre kind of guy, but I pick and choose where I spend my money pretty carefully. If I’m not sure, I’ll torrent something first, then buy it if I like it.

Ooooh, try-before-you-buy. That’s a finin’.

But I digress.

So, this week, I caught a MotherJones.com review of St Vincent with David Byrne – Love This Giant, and I must admit, I was intrigued. I’ve always loved Talking Heads, and Byrne’s own solo stuff. I’ve no idea who St. Vincent, but the review was positive.

I jumped on 7Digital on my phone this morning, and there was Love this Giant. For $6.99, no less. Now, that’s pretty much the threshold for “I was interested in it, and that’s not much money to find out”. So, I bought it.

And no regrets. It’s very “Talking Heads” without BEING the Talking Heads.

Honestly, the MJ review linked above is pretty spot on. I can’t find fault with it, I noticed much the same things: The tracks are split, in terms of the lead, pretty evenly. There’s a pretty unifying sound to the music, but you can definitely tell the “Byrne” songs from the “St Vincent” songs. It’s mellow and alternative-y, as well as invoking the Talking Heads.

The second one is a complete juxtaposition.

ZZ Top – La Futura.

Seriously, ZZ Top is still doin’ it? How does that even happen? And yet, I’ve been a ZZ Top fan since I first came to Canada and heard ’em on the radio in 1984: the classic “Eliminator” album, when I was in grade 5. And I’ll admit, they’re hard bluesy enough these days, that they get two thumbs up from me in general. But what got me, when I looked at reviews of the new album, was that they were opening the album, track one, with an adaptation of a rap anthem:

Fuck it. I’m just going to quote the review in question:

The first ZZ Top album for nine years opens with the most remarkable rock’n’roll song of the year. Gotsta Get Paid is an adaptation not of some old blues or boogie, but of the Houston hip-hop classic 25 Lighters by DJ DMD with Lil’ Keke and Fat Pat. It doesn’t sound like hip-hop, naturally – it’s reconfigured as a dirty, lazy, heavy groove, Billy Gibbons’s growling guitar and voice front and centre. It’s simply brilliant.

Seriously, with THAT lead in, how can I possibly not buy the album?

And as I sit here, battery dying on my phone, Marshall headphones plugged into my ears, I’m listening to the growl of the guitar and voice, and HOT SHIT, I regret nothin’ in that $9.99 the album cost me.

Oh, so I know you listened to the “25 lighters” on youtube up there, right?

So, here’s ZZ Top’s version.

Leave a Reply

