PaxEast: More Games

I may have mentioned before, but it bears repeating: I specifically went to PAX East with the intent of NOT playing a bunch of games. I wanted to see things, for sure, but standing in line for an hour to play a game for ten minutes, when I know I’m going to buy it anyway? That seems pointless to me.

So, it should come as no surprise that I didn’t bother to play Diablo 3, or Torchlight 2. In fact, I specifically mentioned them in a previous post.

That said, I love both games. Here’s the thing though. I don’t have a PC that’ll play either of them. For that matter, I can’t play Tribes: Ascend, either.

For the last couple of years, I’ve run my life off my laptop. It (just) played the original Torchlight, and I played a lot of that. I even loaded up Diablo 2 once in a while, just for kicks and memories. It (the laptop) still chugs along tolerably with Civillization IV, but won’t play Civ V.

What this means is, buying either, or both, of Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3 makes either games’ cost somewhere in the realm of a thousand bucks.

Because I have to buy a new desktop to play ’em on.

However, I installed the trial of the original Torchlight on my xbox, as a download from XboxLive. I’m intrigued to see if they’ve got the dynamic of the ARPG to work with a console controller. I mean, we all played the hell out of Diablo, right? And we did it on the PC, with a mouse. And the mouse REALLY makes the difference. But I’ve adapted really well to using a controller instead of a mouse for FPS’s. Is there any reason why, with a decent interface, I can’t adapt to RPG’s with a controller in the same way?

*cue Jeopardy music*

Ok, well, after five hours, and actually purchasing the game, I can say I’ve thoroughly playtested the idea of using an xbox controller for these types of games.

And I’m shocked.

It works REALLY well. It’s really intuitive, and I find I’m using more of the secondary abilities than I have previously (on the PC). Absolutely zero issues with using a pad controller to play an ARPG. In fact, I’d almost go as far as to say.. I prefer it?

Is that blasphemous?

I’m not sure, it might be.

Ok, so, the caveat in all this is that while Torchlight is on XBL, and there are rumours of Torchlight 2 being released for the xbox, it’s a pretty iron-clad guarentee that there will not be a Diablo 3 for Xbox, or any other console.

Which means that, however good Torchlight is currently on XBL (and the only issue is difficulty: normal is a walk in the park, Hard is barely challenging) the reality of the matter is, I’m going to have to buy a new PC to play both Diablo 3, and Torchlight 2. And, honestly, Civ-V. Because I do love me some CIV. In general, I think I need to be both a PC and console gamer. There, I’ve done it again. More blasphemy.

I think the gods of gaming may strike me down. Or at least the zealots. I shall be the Galileo of Gaming: persecuted for my belief that both console AND PC are worthwhile platforms!

Or, you know, not persecuted at all.

Leave a Reply

