PAX East: On the Floor

Ok, so there was a lot of fun at PAX East this year. But right now, what I want to get down (before I forget entirely) is the expo floor.

Now, I knew there were going to be certain things there. Diablo 3, Borderlands 2, Assassin’s Creed 3: Franchise games. Honestly, I don’t need to play them. Even Borderlands2, which I”ll likely take the day off work to buy, and play, on its September 18th release date. I don’t NEED to play them. They’re on the list, they’ll get bought. In fact, I actively don’t want to play them. Why ruin that “new game smell” experience?

But, there’s some gems from smaller developers, and some stuff that was just plain unexpected!

First off, XBoxLive stuff.

Jet Set Radio HD. No shit. I don’t know how much time I lost waaaay, waaaay back when playing JSF.

Sega’s “Hell Yeah!”. An undead bunny raging against the forces of hell. I can’t make this shit up. But it’s really, really beautiful. Eye-popping, even:

Side-scrolling action adventure. Old school, with a new school vibe. I can’t wait to jump on this one when it gets released in summer.

Sine Mora. Actually available now, and I just haven’t had the time to grab it, but it’s a throwback: mostly, it reminded me of Ikagura, both visually, and in the gameplay.

BangBang Racing There were two top-down, four-player racing games back in the 80’s and 90’s: exactly the same in their basic layout. One, Super Sprint which was straight up racing, and another Badlands which was post-apocaplyptic, and had weapons, but the same top-down style. Those two deserve a post of their own, to be honest. BangBangRacing reminds me of an updated Super Sprint. Again, i can’t wait for the summer release date on this one.

Finally, Black Knight Sword. I can’t find diddly on this online (other than the trailer, which doesn’t have any game play in it), and I didn’t get a chance to play it, but it was BEAUTIFUL to look at. I’m really looking forward to getting a chance to see it for real, at home.

You know, that’s probably enough for one post. More indie and small games, plus mobile games, to come!

Good God, I had a good time at PaxEast.

Leave a Reply

