Day 10: High Contrast

I wasn’t sure about this when I shot it.

A good friend gave me a mug, with a pewter emblem on it, and when I got it, I thought immediately that the emblem would make a great macro. The trick was to make it look more than just a photo of the emblem. So, taking a trick from my friend yumikid, I over exposed the shot, under macro, and with my SB-600 off to the side. In post processing, I desaturated (yumikid favors sepia at this point), and pushed the contrast way, way up.

I think it came out well. Much better than a simple snapshot of the mug, documentary style.

Day 10 - logo in relief

Leave a Reply

