Day 7: @20mm

I’m a big fan of prime lenses. Yes, you have to carry a lot more weight to maintain a decent range rather than a zoom, but you get wonderfully crisp pictures with much more affordable lenses (relatively speaking, of course).

So, when my friend Yumi was showing off one of her new lenses, I had to jump at the chance to play with it.

She got a 20mm f/2.8 Nikon. It’s a great lens, very sharp, and super clean. I also got to advise her a bit on which lenses to take on vacation with her: My suggestion was, rather than taking her 50mm f/1.8, 18-55mm zoom, and brand new 55-200mm VR zoom, she should take the 20mm f/2.8, 50mm f/1.8, and the 55-200mm. I think she’ll take MUCH better pictures with that combination, and I don’t believe for a second she’ll miss the 18-55mm on the trip. most of the range is covered by the 20 and 50mm, and they’re both superior lenses, compared to the little zoom.

As for the picture, I shot it after several drinks, on New Years Eve, at a party, so I was making do with subject matter at hand. But, I shot it with flash (SB-600), from very short range (about twelve inches).

I really like (and covet) this lens.

11 - 20mm wideangle test
f/20, 1/60th second, ISO 250
Nikon D70s, Nikon 20mm f/2.8, SB-600

Leave a Reply

